Previous Entry Share
Main Figures in Iranian Politics
Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, Leader of the Islamic Revolution of 1979

Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Supreme Leader

Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Disputed President of Iran

Mir-Hossein Mousavi, Leading reformist politician, widely believed to be the real winner of the 2009 Iranian Presidential elections

Zahra Rahnavard, Wife of Mir-Hossein Mousavi, former Chancellor of Al-Zahra University in Tehran, former Political Advisor to President Mohammad Khatami, and author of many best-selling books in Iran

Ayatollah Hossein-Ali Montazeri, Most senior cleric in Shi'a Islam who was meant to become Supreme Leader of Iran but was pushed aside because of disagreements with the hardline Iranian political system

Ayatollah Ali Akbar Rafsanjani, Multi-billionaire and Chairman of the Assembly of Experts and Expediency Council

Ayatollah Mohammad Mesbah-Yazdi, Hardline cleric widely believed to be spiritual advisor of Ahmadinejad

Mehdi Karroubi, Leading reformist politician, Presidential candidate in 2009 elections

Abdolkarim Soroush, Leading reformist politician and philosopher, named by Time Magazine as among the world's 100 most influential people, and by Propsect Magazine as 7th most influential intellectual in world

Mohammad Reza Rahimi, Vice President

Ali Larijani, Speaker of Iranian parliament

Mohammad Khatami, Leading reformist politician and former President

Manouchehr Mottaki, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mohammad Ali Jafari, Commander of Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC)

Yahya Safavi, Commander of Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC)

Marzieh Vahid-Dastjerdi, Minister of Health and Medical Education

Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, The popular Mayor of Tehran, he was nominated as 8th best Mayor in the 2008 World Mayor awards

Maryam Rajavi, Leader of the exiled terrorist cult group PMOI

Mohsen Sazegara, Leading reformist politician, currently living in exile because of disagreements with Iranian political system

Mohammad Ali Abtahi, Leading reformist politician, former Vice President

Masoumeh Ebtekar, Leading reformist politician, former Vice President

Shirin Ebadi, Lawyer, former judge, human rights activist and Nobel Prize winner

Mostafa Moeen, Leading reformist politician, former Minister of Culture and Higher Education

Farah Pahlavi, Last Shahbanu (Empress) of Iran, living in exile with family

free counters


Log in